Model assessment · Hoover

Hoover PowerDash Pet Advanced review

A compact upright carpet washer with an 8-foot hose, 20-foot cord and supplied two-in-one pet hand tool.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Official Hoover image of exact FH55000V PowerDash Pet Advanced carpet washer; appears to be studio product artwork, but Hoover does not state whether it is a photograph or render.
Current exact-model Hoover hero image showing the gray/red upright PowerDash Pet Advanced. The isolated studio appearance may be a product visualization; photo/render status was not labeled by Hoover. Manufacturer image: Hoover
A useful fit for

Useful when a compact upright floor head is the main route and an exact supplied hose/tool path matters for separate suitable upholstery or stair work.

The main tradeoff

Hoover does not publish the exact current package's clean-tank volume, dimensions, dry weight, floor-head width or hose-rinse feature; its manual routine remains manual rather than directional automatic dispensing.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the exact upright package include both a room-cleaning head and a dedicated pet hand tool?

Hoover's current FH55000V page documents the floor washer and its 2-in-1 pet tool.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the listed 8-foot hose and 20-foot cord meet the route?

Both listed minimums are met at the exact current-page boundaries.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its manual support manual spray while washing forward and backward without requiring heated liquid?

The manual documents forward/backward wet strokes, released recovery strokes and no water-heating feature.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hoover PowerDash Pet Advanced FH55000V is a compact upright carpet washer with a separate hose and a two-in-one pet hand tool. It is the more natural Hoover choice when carpeted floor areas are the main task but occasional stairs or suitable upholstery also need an included tool. It is not a small portable spot cleaner: you push the floor head for room work, then switch to the hose arrangement for localized surfaces.

Choose it for the floor head, not the compact name

Hoover identifies this exact model as the PowerDash Pet Advanced Compact Carpet Cleaner. The current US product page lists a 20-foot power cord, an 8-foot hose, dual tanks, HeatForce drying assistance and a 2-in-1 pet tool with bristle and rubber-nub attachments. Those are useful distinctions from a floor-only PowerDash listing, but they do not establish a large-room tank capacity or a particular amount of carpet covered per fill. Hoover does not publish a clean-tank ounce value, full dimensions or a dry machine weight on this page. I leave those measurements unknown rather than borrowing values from a different PowerDash model or the shipping weight in an online variant feed.

The floor route is straightforward manual extraction. The model-specific guide says to add warm water and Hoover solution at their marked fill lines, then use the trigger for slow forward and backward wet strokes. Releasing the trigger changes the pass to recovery. This is not SmartWash-style automatic dispensing tied to walking direction, and it is not a dry vacuum. Vacuum loose debris first and do not expect the wet cleaner to replace that step.

The supplied hose changes the job—but not the machine's placement

The exact product page describes above-floor use and the included two-in-one pet tool. The manual gives a separate hose routine for stains on carpeted stairs and upholstery. Keep the cleaner on the floor or at the bottom of the stairs; Hoover warns against setting the body on a stair tread or furniture. The hose is for reaching the surface while the base stays safely placed, not a reason to balance the upright on a sofa or carry a tank up each step.

For upholstery, follow the fabric code and test a hidden area. The guide permits fabrics marked W or W/S, calls for a colorfastness test, and warns that some carpet fibers can fuzz. Its hand-tool section limits the number of wet strokes over one spot and says to finish with dry strokes. That is practical care guidance, not a promise that HeatForce will dry every fabric within a fixed number of minutes. HeatForce is described as drying assistance; it does not mean the machine heats the wash water or makes steam.

What the dimensions and accessories do not tell you

An 8-foot hose and 20-foot cord are more informative than a vague “above-floor versatility” headline, but plan the actual route: outlet to machine, around furniture, and from the safely placed base to the stain. Do not simply add the cord and hose lengths as if they formed one straight reach. The page does not state a precise hose-rinse port or a self-cleaning tray for this package, so a required hose-flush feature cannot be confirmed from the tool list. Empty and rinse both tanks, remove debris as the guide directs, and let wet parts and the underside dry before storing.

Hoover's page uses a “most powerful compact” comparison headline, but the cited comparison basis is not a substitute for an independent test. No suction or stain-removal result is measured here. The useful evidence is the exact tool, hose, cord and manual routine—not a ranking implied by marketing copy.

How the finder changes with your answers

Choose an upright format and require both a room head and suitable upholstery access if you want this particular combination. Requiring a dedicated pet tool is also supported by the current page. A minimum 8-foot hose and 20-foot cord sit at the documented boundary; a higher minimum will exclude FH55000V. A portable format, hard-floor permission, a known tank volume, an exact weight ceiling or a confirmed hose-rinse port should not select it: those conditions are either false for the upright/hard-floor route or not documented for this exact package.

If you mainly need a machine to carry to a sofa or a car, compare the portable Spotless FH11300 or CleanSlate Pet. Their hand-tool bodies suit localized work, but they do not give you this upright floor head. For an inexpensive floor-only style with a different exact package, compare the PowerDash FH50700V; its supplied hose/tools are not interchangeable with FH55000V just because both names include PowerDash.

Sources: Hoover FH55000V product page and Hoover FH55000V support page and linked manual.

Key details at a glance

Machine formatCompact corded upright carpet washer with an included 2-in-1 pet hand tool
Confirmed hose length8 ft
Confirmed cord length20 ft
Dedicated pet tool includedYes
Operating routineManual trigger-controlled wash and recovery strokes; HeatForce is drying assistance, not heated wash liquid or steam.
After-cleaning carePre-vacuum. Follow W/W-S upholstery codes and hidden colorfastness tests; keep base on floor at the bottom of stairs; no hard floors; empty and rinse both tanks, unplug before service, and air-dry wet parts.
Battery-powered operationNo
Powered push-and-pull assistanceNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a cleaner for your real workload.

Choose floor coverage or hand-tool work, then add the modes and reach you need.