Model assessment · Hoover

Hoover SmartWash PET Complete FH53000 review

Corded automatic upright on a current U.S. exact FH53000 retailer listing, with a 12-inch floor head, 1-gallon clean tank, Spot Chaser pretreat wand, 8-foot hose and included Pet tool package.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hoover SmartWash PET Complete FH53000 retailer-hosted product image: upright carpet washer with Spot Chaser wand
Exact FH53000 retailer listing image, visually inspected. Image host does not disclose whether the asset is a photograph or render; verify the model marking and carton. Manufacturer photo provenance is not independently established. Home Depot-hosted image associated with the exact FH53000 listing; manufacturer provenance not stated by the image host
A useful fit for

Useful for a household comparing the exact U.S. FH53000 listing for an upright that handles carpeted rooms and has a Spot Chaser plus Pet hose-tool kit for separately planned work on suitable stairs or upholstery.

The main tradeoff

This is a corded upright, not a carryable spot cleaner or hard-floor/steam machine. The retailer listing is not evidence of local stock; its dry machine weight and the FH53000/FH53000V carton/specification relationship are not confirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can the exact FH53000 package cover room carpet plus separate suitable upholstery work with the named Pet tool?

Its exact U.S. listing identifies Model FH53000, an upright automatic floor path, an 8-foot hose and the included Antimicrobial Pet Tool; upholstery still needs a suitable W or S/W care label.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact listing meet both a one-gallon clean-water minimum and an 8-foot hose minimum?

The model-specific page lists 1 gallon of clean tank and an 8-foot attachment hose; no weight is inferred from a suffix-matched model.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does FH53000 fit an essential steam-only tile/grout requirement?

No: the manual calls this a carpet cleaner and warns not to use it on hard floors; its exact listing documents formula extraction, not steam.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hoover SmartWash PET Complete FH53000 is a corded upright carpet washer with motion-controlled floor passes, a Spot Chaser pretreat wand and an included hose-and-tool package. The exact FH53000 retail listing is a distinct configuration record from Hoover’s current FH53000V offer: the name is similar, but the model suffix and item package should be checked rather than assumed interchangeable.

Confirm the FH53000 package, not just the SmartWash name

The U.S. Home Depot listing identifies the model as FH53000 and spells out its box contents: an antimicrobial Pet tool, an eight-foot hose, a mesh accessory bag, trial-size Spot Chaser pretreat solution and trial-size Paws & Claws carpet shampoo. It also describes the removable Spot Chaser wand and the automatic upright routine. That is enough to review this specific offer without borrowing package details from the separate FH53000V record.

There is still a suffix boundary to respect. Hoover’s current product page and variant record identify FH53000V, while the retailer page reviewed here identifies FH53000 without the V. Hoover’s family service document lists both model numbers, which places them in one service family but does not prove identical cartons or specifications. The 72-page SmartWash PET Complete owner manual is linked from the exact FH53000 listing; its cover identifies the PET Complete family but does not print the FH53000 SKU. If the listing, used cleaner or replacement part is important, match the rating plate and carton to FH53000 instead of treating “SmartWash Pet” as a complete identifier.

The floor routine reduces trigger work

The manual describes a direct sequence: push the cleaner forward to dispense its water-and-solution mix, then pull back to extract. It also documents a Dry Only mode for additional water removal. That motion-controlled cycle is useful when the main task is broad carpeted rooms and you prefer not to squeeze a spray trigger for each floor pass. The machine is still a full-size corded upright; its automatic dispensing does not turn it into a portable spill cleaner or remove the work of filling, emptying and cleaning its tanks.

For a spot the wand adds a separate pretreatment step rather than a steam-cleaning mode. The removable Spot Chaser reservoir applies pretreat solution, and the manual directs the user to wait five to ten minutes before running the floor washer across the treated area. The package page lists two trial formulas, but a trial bottle is not an ongoing supply plan. If you need steam or a hard-floor tool, this is the wrong arrangement: the manual expressly warns against hard-floor use and this package’s named functions are carpet washing, extraction and hose-tool work.

Use the hose for planned, material-safe tasks

The eight-foot hose and included Pet tool let the same package move from room carpet to a separate stair or suitable upholstery job. That matters for a home that wants both tasks without buying a second handheld extractor. The wand is for pretreating spots, not a substitute for the hose hand tool. Keep the upright base on the floor at the bottom of the stairs as the manual directs; the hose does not make it safe to balance the machine on a step or sofa.

Screen upholstery before wet cleaning. The manual allows its method only for fabric labeled W or S/W, asks for a hidden colorfastness test, and excludes S-only fabric. Those limits are more decision-useful than the broad page category “upholstery.” If your most frequent mess is on a delicate chair with no suitable cleaning code, choose a dry method or a professional rather than relying on the Pet label.

Capacity helps with the plan; it does not promise room count

The exact listing gives a one-gallon clean-water tank, a 0.6-gallon recovery tank, a 12-inch cleaning path, a 22-foot cord, 10 amps and a body footprint of 43.5 inches high by 13 wide by 18.9 deep. These are planning figures, not a number of rooms per fill or a measured cleaning result. The clean and dirty tanks are separate; expect to stop and empty recovery liquid when the manual’s full-tank float shuts off suction. Weight is not established by the reviewed model-specific specification block, so I would not fill in a household carrying estimate from a nearby suffix model.

Ownership continues after the last pass. Hoover’s guide tells the user to unplug, remove and rinse the recovery tank, wipe its filter, let it air-dry, and clean the removable nozzle. It warns that water can drip from the brushes after use, so set the unit on absorbent material rather than leaving it over wood or laminate. The Pet wand also requires two AAA batteries before use; the retailer’s included-items list does not identify those cells as boxed accessories. Budget a little time for cleanup and a small battery purchase, not just the cleaning session.

Who should compare this exact listing?

The FH53000 listing is relevant when you need an upright for room carpet, want the included Pet hand tool and Spot Chaser pretreatment arrangement, and can verify the exact unsuffixed model on the listing or appliance plate. The retailer page is a current U.S. listing, but the cited page is not proof of present local stock. It is not a compact solution for frequent car-seat or stair work, a general hard-surface cleaner, or a steam machine. Compare the current FH53000V assessment only as a related SmartWash Pet version, not as proof that its measurements, carton or parts are interchangeable. This review uses product-page and manual evidence rather than ownership or lab testing; price and stock can change, so check the actual offer and model marking before ordering.

Sources: Home Depot exact-model FH53000 product listing; SmartWash PET Complete Use and Care Manual linked from that listing; Hoover current FH53000V listing; TTI SmartWash family service instructions.

Key details at a glance

Machine formatFull-size corded upright on a current exact FH53000 retailer listing; the included attachment hose and separate hand tool are different from a portable spot-cleaner body.
Confirmed clean-water capacity128 fl oz
Confirmed hose length8 ft
Confirmed cord length22 ft
Dedicated pet tool includedYes
Operating routineThe floor route dispenses on forward movement and extracts on the backward pull; Dry Only is additional extraction. HeatForce is presented as drying assistance, not steam or heated wash liquid.
After-cleaning careThe FH53000-linked manual permits wet upholstery only for W or S/W care labels after a hidden colorfastness test; it warns against hard floors, directs the user to keep the base at the bottom of stairs, requires Hoover fluids, limits wet passes to avoid saturation and calls for post-use tank/filter/nozzle cleanup. The exact retail page lists FH53000 package components. The manual cover does not print FH53000, and the FH53000/FH53000V suffix-to-carton bridge remains unproven.
Floor-head cleaning path12 in
Battery-powered operationNo
Powered push-and-pull assistanceNo
Spare brush roller includedNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a cleaner for your real workload.

Choose floor coverage or hand-tool work, then add the modes and reach you need.